Louisiana Concealed Carry Laws / License to Carry Rules

Louisiana is a shall issue state. The Department of Public Safety and Corrections must issue a concealed handgun permit if the applicant meets qualifications and requirements set forth under the Louisiana Concealed Carry Laws. Applications are easy to get online or in person, and training courses are available at Post Exchange.

For more information about the Post Exchange, or Concealed Carry Class Calendar, please call! 337-519-5428

Concealed Carry Qualifications

Requirements to qualify for a Louisiana Concealed Carry permit:

  • Be 21 or older.
  • Be a resident of the state for at least 6 months.
  • Provide proof of passing a certification training course.
  • Pass a background check from the NICS database.

The training course must be taught by an NRA or POST certified instructor. George Fournet at The Post Exchange is a qualified instructor. Concealed carry classes taught by George are valid and accepted when applying for your License to Carry Permit.

If you are a member of the US military, your current military ID, a DD-214 and a copy of your last qualifications from your 201 file can be used instead of a training course certification.

Concealed Carry Disqualifications

There are some conditions that will disqualify you from receiving your concealed carry permit.

You will be denied a license to carry permit if you:

  • Have been found guilty of a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last 5 years.
  • Have been convicted of a crime of violence for a crime that is punishable by imprisonment of a year or more.
  • Are ineligible to possess a firearm under federal law.
  • Have had a permit revoked within four years prior to the most recent application.
  • Have had a permit denied within one year prior to the most recent application.
  • Suffer from a mental or physical disability that prevents the safe handling of a handgun.
  • Have been committed for substance abuse.
  • Have a conviction for substance abuse in the last 5 years.
  • Be a fugitive from justice.
  • Chronically or habitually use alcohol in a way that impairs normal functioning.
  • Have a history of engaging in violent behavior.
  • Be an illegal alien in the United States.

Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the module Advanced settings.

The Post Exchange Concealed Carry Classes

Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the module Advanced settings.

Louisiana Concealed Carry Permits

Louisiana offers License to Carry Permits valid for five years or lifetime. Five year permits for citizens ages 21-64 are $125. Five year permits for citizens 65 years old and over are $62.50. A lifetime permit is $500 for persons age 21-64 and $250 for those 65 and older. Even with a lifetime permit, you still must provide proof of certified concealed carry training every five years.

According to issuing officials, it can take up to 120 days after an application is submitted to be approved. To mitigate the approval time in instances where a person is known to be in danger, Louisiana has a temporary concealed handgun permit. Temporary permits are granted priority and take 72 hours to process.

Temporary concealed handgun permits are available for applicants who have recently obtained a domestic abuse protective order against a family member, intimate partner or household member.

Applicants for temporary permits must meet all the same qualifications, with the exception of the safety training requirement. Temporary conceal carry permits are valid for up to 45 days. It is only valid in Louisiana and does not work in reciprocity agreements with other states.

Where Can You Go?

Even with a permit, you cannot legally bring a handgun with you everywhere you go.

Guns are not allowed in:

  • Law enforcement buildings, prisons, jails.
  • Courthouses and courtrooms.
  • Polling places.
  • Restricted areas of airports.
  • Meeting places of local governments.
  • Churches or places of worship.
  • Parades or demonstrations with have permits to gather.
  • Areas of restaurants or bars with alcohol is sold for immediate consumption.
  • School zones.


Reciprocity agreements between states allow a Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit to be valid in another state. Though the permit may be valid across state lines, not all states have the same rules when it comes to guns. It is always best to become familiar with state gun laws when you are visiting states with reciprocity agreements. Louisiana honors permits from all states the accept a Louisiana permit.

Only 12 states do not accept a Louisiana License to Carry permits.

Your Louisiana Concealed Carry permit is not valid in:


227 Austin Rd
Youngsville, LA 70592